FAQ

What do some of the items listed as ingredients of our products actually involve?

Learn more about some of the items listed as ingredients of our products.

Glucose-fructose syrup – a honey-resembling substance used for sweetening and made from wheat/maize starch. It also prevents any re-crystallisation of sugar. It is commonly used to sweeten non-alcoholic beverages.

Aronia berry puree  – a component of the jam that we purchase to include in our fillings. Aronia berries are the fruit of a shrub called chokeberry.

Citric acid, an acidity regulator – a component of the jam that we purchase to include in our fillings. Citric acid is commonly used as acidifier for jams, marmalades and non-alcoholic beverages. In nature, it is a component of citrus fruit.

Pectins – a component of the jam that we purchase to include in our fillings. A substance that improves the thickening of jams. It is made from fruit – generally from citrus fruit, apples or currants.

Lactose – a natural component of milk powder. Lactose is milk sugar.

Soy lecithin – part of confectioners’ glazing. Adding lecithin to chocolate and glazes ensures the creaminess of the mass; the ingredient can bind water and fats. Soy lecithin is produced from soy. Lecithin is commonly found in egg yolk.

Sodium carbonates – raising agents. Sodium bicarbonate is used in gingerbread products; also known as baking soda, it is the most common ingredient of baking powders. In baking, it releases carbon dioxide that helps the dough rise. In home medicine, it is also used against heartburn.

Ammonium carbonates – raising agents. Also referred to as baker’s yeast, it is a raising agent that is used for dough leavening. The baking process releases ammonia gas that leaves into the air after the dough has risen.